harmonic progression analysis : help needed!

This forum is dedicated to discussion concerning Jeux d'orgues, organ sounbanks and virtual organs in general.
admin
Site Admin
harmonic progression analysis : help needed!

Postby admin » Wed Jul 15, 2009 5:27 pm

Hello,

I'm studying (a bit alone...) harmonic analysis. For example I'm studiying the piece named
"La Lugubre - Sarabande" of F. Couperin.

Here, p.65 of the PDF (p.52 of the book) you can find the sheet music.
http://imslp.info/files/imglnks/usimg/7 ... Works1.pdf
Here is a recording : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r3Q9DUEE ... r_embedded.

I want to analyse (bar after bar) the chord changes, harmonic progressions, cadence, etc.

This piece ("morceau" en français = piece ?) has only 2 "flat" ( b ) but seems to be in Cminor.
(which should have 3 "flat") : it begins and ends with C minor chord, and in a book of harmonic
analysis, it says : C minor.

But I don't understand : I see :

bar
1 I C minor
2 V of IV C 7
3 IV Major (in Cminor the fourth degree must be Minor ! except if it is
in dorian mode, I think it's not the case here)
So I don't understand !

Thanks in advance for helping me to analyse such a piece!

Joseph

L.Palo

Re: harmonic progression analysis : help needed!

Postby L.Palo » Sat Oct 31, 2009 8:44 am

Hi!

Maybe a little late for an answer but anyway...

We have to understand the conventions of the time when the music was written to understand. It's very much common that even in late baroque music like Bach's the notation of key signature is not a key signature in the modern sense (we many times find d-minor without any key signature, g-minor with only one flat and even E-major with only three sharps). Your perfectly right that it's a legacy from the dorian "times", even though the tonal scheme turns towards our modern understanding, the old ways and conventions were still very much used.