selecting stops ?

This forum is dedicated to discussion concerning Jeux d'orgues, organ sounbanks and virtual organs in general.
sesquialt
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 5:22 pm

selecting stops ?

Postby sesquialt » Thu Jan 13, 2011 3:09 pm

Hello

With GrandOrgue, I don't want to select the stops with my mouse anymore,
I need a little help to find a way to select stops with a silent MIDI keyboard.

In the ".organ" file, I put the number of a midi key for each stop of my bank.
It works : when I press the key, a stop is selected (light) but ,
when I release the key, the stop becomes unselected (dark) . :x

Have you got an idea to avoid this ?
Thank you for your advices

Ghekorg7
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 8:32 pm

Re: selecting stops ?

Postby Ghekorg7 » Sun Jan 16, 2011 11:02 am

Hi Sesquialt

Right click in GO (v0.2) on the stop you want click on wait for event then hit the key you want or piston or any midi contr and click OK.

In my set up I work with general pistons. I do the above proceedure on virtual pistons instead of stops.
So when I play I change registrations as I pre-set them changing them with my physical pistons. This is fast and very helpful on live performances !

Regards
Panos

sesquialt
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 5:22 pm

Re: selecting stops ?

Postby sesquialt » Sun Jan 16, 2011 2:56 pm

Hi Ghekorg7, Thank you for this reply...

I used the right clic on the keyboard picture to set the MIDI chanels, but I didn't kwow it was the same with stop buttons and couplers ...
This is far easier than programing the ".ogan" file with the MIDI number of the key.

But my problem is still there : when I release the key, the stop becomes unselected (dark) .
Is there something I missed ?

ggoode_sa
Posts: 258
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 6:26 am

Re: selecting stops ?

Postby ggoode_sa » Mon Jan 17, 2011 6:07 am

Hi Sesquialt,

You are using the Note On/ Note Off function for turning the Stops On and Off, so the behaviour will be exactly as you have described it. The Stop will go On when receiving the Note On message, and Off when receiving the Note Off message.

There is a way to get around this, but it requires some extensive configuration in the .organ file and then the use of Program Change messages... which probably means using MIDI-OX mapping to convert the signals from your MIDI keyboard. If your keyboard is velocity sensitive then we could also use MIDI-OX mapping to give you Note-On when lightly playing the note and Note Off when playing the note hard...

Would it not be easier to configure the Keyboard Shortcuts and activate / deactive the Stops using the computer keyboard?

GrahamG

sesquialt
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 5:22 pm

Re: selecting stops ?

Postby sesquialt » Mon Jan 17, 2011 8:01 am

Hi Graham,

Yes it would... And I'll choose this method.
( But I regret that there's not more keys on a computer keyboard... )

sesquialt
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 5:22 pm

Re: selecting stops ?

Postby sesquialt » Mon Jan 17, 2011 8:20 pm

Hello .
I've chosen ! An USB computer keyboard, with color stickers.
(I took off the useless keys.)
IMG_4346b [800x600].jpg


Red for great, green for swell, yellow for choir, blue for pedals.
IMG_4348 [800x600].jpg

The stickers are more expensive than the keyboard ! (10€) :lol:

It' will make me wait untill I can buy two touch screens...
-

Ghekorg7
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 8:32 pm

Re: selecting stops ?

Postby Ghekorg7 » Tue Jan 18, 2011 4:11 pm

Hi Sesquialt !

What a beutiful set-up !!!! and great idea too..... you get me thinkin' to follow this ... coloured board choice of yours :lol:

I presume everything works ok now , no?

Anyway
Have fun !
Panos 8-)

sesquialt
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 5:22 pm

Re: selecting stops ?

Postby sesquialt » Tue Jan 18, 2011 6:10 pm

Yes Panos, everything works perfectly...

BUT ( ther's allways a but ... ) there's no light inside the keys ...
and the names of the stops are not written on them.
( I could write it, but I've got several virtual organs... )

The perfect solution would be a touch screen ... but (again) £ $ € !! :o

This method is not perfect, but I'm happy with it.

( Don't you think the second photo looks like an accordion ? ) ;)


Return to “General discussion”



cron