Creation Of A virtual Organ Using Arduino

This section is dedicated to topics related to the building of virtual organs, MIDI keyboards, consoles, etc.
Cette section est dédiée à la construction d'orgue virtuel, claviers MIDI et consoles d'orgue.
admin
Site Admin
Creation Of A virtual Organ Using Arduino

Postby admin » Wed Apr 01, 2015 1:27 pm

(this message was posted by hanlonpp, I reposted it here because I lost your account while migrating the forum)

These notes describe the use of the Arduino platform for the replacement of the internals of an analog electronic organ.

I originally built the Schober Consolette II organ in 1970; it was still in operational order in 2012. I am not a musician however, and would not really pick degraded performance. The principles apply to any organ that can be converted to essentially a set of switches.

The Arduino platform is described at http://www.arduino.cc.
It has a vast following, and includes the following elements :

-Basic microprocessor hardware, about playing card size, and extracted into a set of digital and analog pins,

-C software framework which you write on a PC, and upload to the Arduino board via USB. Run-time connection to a serial monitor is also provided.

-Arduino shields which essentially stack on top of the basic PCB, and provide digital displays, connections to downstream hardware and most anything else.

For the hobbyist, it is like PIC on steroids, easy to use, and flexible.

The approach I have taken for my organ project is to use the Arduino and a number of MIDI DIN R5 boards to deliver a serial output to a PC (Mac OSX whenever there is a key state change.

It reminds me of a train engine with a number of carriages behind. The engine is the Arduino, and the DIN the carriages, each with 4 compartments the shift registers, each with 8 passengers the switch keys.