FAQ

Q : What is your philosophy of sample set producing ?

There are many approaches to recording pipe organ sample sets. Here is my philosophy of organ recording.

My aim is NOT to create a virtual “perfect” organ, because that does not exist anywhere! I know that some sample set producers’ goal is to have the largest organ, with the more stops, and to provide many temperament tunings of the organ, etc. This is done even to the extent of modifying much samples and adding features that do not exist on the real organ!

The purpose here is, at the contrary, to provide samples that are as close as possible to the real sound of the pipe organ that has been recorded. I think that the less you modify the sound, the more you respect the authenticity of a real historical organ that was built by a famous organ builder.

 

Q: Which recording gear has been used ?

The sampling of Jeuxdorgues3 has been done with Rode NT5 condenser mics, an external soundcard, and a computer.
About Jeuxdorgues1 & 2, the soundbanks have been made, with the help of Philippe Ozanne, with a Teac DAT recorder and a condenser microphone.

 

Q: Can the sample-set Jeux d’orgues 3 – Silbermann be loaded in Hauptwerk Free Edition?

Even if a full version of Hauptwerk is necessary to load the sample-set in 24 bit, it is totally possible to use Jeux d’orgues 3 – Silbermann with Hauptwerk Free Edition, by loading it in 16 bit / mono (see more details here).

Even when loaded in mono, Hauptwerk will recreate a stereo field, and the result will be played in 16 bit stereo (i.e. CD quality). As a conclusion, Jeux d’orgues 3 – Silbermann is available with Hauptwerk Free Edition.

FAQ

Q : Quelle est la philosophie de création de banques de sons mise en oeuvre ici ?

Moins l’on retouche le son enregistré, davantage l’on respecte l’authenticité des sonorités des orgues historiques.

Il y a de nombreuses manières de créer des banques de sons d’orgues, essayons de détailler celle adoptée pour le projet Jeux d’orgues.

Le but n’est PAS de créer un orgue virtuel « parfait », tout simplement parce que de tels instruments n’existent pas dans la réalité. Plusieurs créateurs de banques de sons ont pour but de proposer des orgues toujours plus importants, avec le plus de jeux, et de nombreuses fonctions supplémentaires. Souvent même en modifiant beaucoup les sons enregistrés sur l’orgue original.

Notre but est ici, bien au contraire, de proposer des sons qui sont au plus près possible du son réel tel qu’on peut l’entendre sur l’orgue d’origine.

 

Q: Quel matériel d’enregistrement a été utilisé ?

La banque de son Jeux d’orgues 3 a été enregistrée avec des microphones à condensateur Rode, ainsi qu’une interface audionumérique Tascam.

L’enregistrement de la banque de sons Jeux d’orgues 2 – Stiehr-Mockers a été effectuée avec l’aide de Philippe Ozanne en utilisant le matériel suivant : enregistreur DAT Teac DA-P20, microphones à condensateur, carte son Sound Blaster Live!

 

Q: La banque de sons Jeux d’orgues 3 – Silbermann peut-elle fonctionner avec Hauptwerk Free Edition ?

Bien que la version complète d’Hauptwerk soit nécessaire pour charger la banque de sons en 24 bit, il est tout à fait possible d’utiliser Jeux d’orgues 3 – Silbermann avec Hauptwerk Free Edition, en la chargeant en 16 bit / mono (voir ici pour plus de détails).

Même chargée en mono, Hauptwerk recrée un champ stéréo, ce qui fait que le résultat sera joué en 16 bit / stéréo (qualité CD). En conclusion, Jeux d’orgues 3 – Silbermann est bien utilisable, avec un haut réalisme, avec Hauptwerk Free Edition.